ITA Cup Concludes Sunday With Multiple Champions Crowned

ITA Cup Tournament Page

Rome, Ga. (October 20) – The 2019 ITA Cup concluded Sunday with multiple champions being crowned at the Rome Tennis Center at Berry College in Rome, Ga.

Championships were won in men’s and women’s Division II singles, NAIA men’s and women’s singles, and ITA Cup men’s and women’s doubles during the final day of competition.

The following is a full list of ITA Cup Champions.

Division II Singles
Men: Alejandro Ibanez Gallego (Barry) def. Alvaro Regalado (Columbus State); 6-0, 3-6, 6-1
Women: Berta Bonardi (West Florida) def. Nikol Alekseeva (Indianapolis); 6-3, 6-3

Division II Doubles
Men: Dario Huber/Renato Lima (Indianapolis) def. Matei Avram/Alvaro Regalado (Columbus State); 7-6 (5), 7-5
Women: Natalie Espinal/Sarah Wardenburg (Nova Southeastern) def. Annie McCullough/Caitlin McCullough (Tusculum); 7-6 (3), 6-4

Division III Singles
Men: Boris Sorkin (Tufts) def. Stanley Morris (Middlebury); 7-6 (5), 3-6, 6-1
Women: Justine Leong (CMS) vs. Catherine Allen (CMS); (To be played in California)

Division III Doubles
Men: Matthew Chen/James Hopper (Case Western Reserve) def. Bradley Cummins/Brysi Libao (Redlands); 7-6 (7), 6-7 (8), 6-4
Women: Catherine Allen/Justine Leong (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps) def. Sophie Henderson/Kristina Yu (Wesleyan [CT]); 6-0, 6-3

NAIA Singles
Men: Jose Dugo (Georgia Gwinnett) def. Martin Barbier (Cumberlands);
Women: Elyse Lavender (Brenau) def. Maria Genovese (Georgia Gwinnett); 6-1, 6-7 (1), 6-4

NAIA Doubles
Men: Dominik Fritsche/Daniil Klimov (William Carey) def. Federico Bonacia/Valentino Caratini (Georgia Gwinnett); 7-6 (1), 6-3
Women: Lailaa Bashir/Angela Charles-Alfred (Xavier, La.) def. Madeline Bosnjak/Maria Genovese (Georgia Gwinnett); 6-4, 6-4

Junior College Singles
Men: Oscar Gabriel Ortiz (Seward County) def. Sander Jans (Seward County); 6-4, 6-0
Women: Tatiana Simova (ASA Miami) def. Lucie Devier (Tyler JC); 6-3, 6-2

Junior College Doubles
Men: Tao Castillo/Gustavo de Oliveira Cruz (ASA Miami) def. Sander Jans/Karl Wurth (Seward County); 7-6 (3), 6-3
Women: Helena Jansen/Emelie Schwarte (Tyler JC) def. Lucie Devier/Momoko Yoshimura (Tyler JC); 6-1, 6-2

ITA Cup Doubles
Men: Dario Huber/Renato (Indianapolis) def. Tao Castillo/Gustavo de Oliveira (ASA Miami); 2-6, 6-2, 1-0 (5)
Women: Angela Charles-Alfred/Lailaa Bashir (XULA) def. Helena Jansen/Emelie Schwarte (Tyler JC); 7-6 (3), 6-3

The ITA Cup features individuals from NCAA Division II, III, NAIA and junior college competing in their respective 16-player individual singles draws and doubles team draws with the winners earning entry into the Oracle ITA National Fall Championships scheduled for Nov. 6-10 in Newport Beach, Calif.

The Oracle ITA National Fall Championships is the lone collegiate tennis event where players from all five divisions, including the top individuals from NCAA Division I, compete in the same tournament.

Formerly known as the Small College Nationals, the ITA Cup’s history dates back to 1986, and is the only singles and doubles national championship event for the Division II and NAIA levels. Earlier this fall, more than 8,000 players took part in 60 regional tournaments with the goal of advancing to the ITA Cup. 

About the Intercollegiate Tennis Association
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is committed to serving college tennis and returning the leaders of tomorrow. As the governing body of college tennis, the ITA oversees men’s and women’s varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College divisions. The ITA administers a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men’s and women’s varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court. For more information on the ITA, visit the ITA website at, like the ITA on Facebook or follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter and Instagram.