Applicant must have graduated from a four-year American college and lettered a minimum of one year on the school’s collegiate tennis team.

Award Selection:

The ITA will select a minimum of three finalists from all the applications received to be reviewed by the Selection Panel. One recipient (either a man or woman) will be selected as the 2019 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award winner.

Recognition and Award Ceremony:

The winner will be honored by the ITA at a special award ceremony that will take place on Saturday, September 7, 2019 at the International Tennis Hall of Fame (ITHF) Board of Governors meeting at the New York Grand Hyatt Hotel. Stan Smith will present the winner with a framed certificate and a specially engraved Rolex timepiece. It is expected that the ITA Achievement Award Laureate (and guest) will also attend a session of the US Open, courtesy of the USTA, and will be recognized during the ITHF Legends Ball. In addition, the honoree will be featured on the ITA Website and in a special commemorative brochure. 

Donation to Institution:

The ITA will donate $2,500.00 to the varsity tennis program of the undergraduate institution at which the award winner participated on the tennis team and received a four-year degree.  


To nominate a collegiate tennis player who graduated from your institution, please complete the information requested below no later than March 29, 2019.


If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please e-mail Rachel Dagen, rdagen@itatennis.com, Director of Special Projects & Executive Administrator. 

About the Intercollegiate Tennis Association
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA), is committed to serving college tennis and returning the leaders of tomorrow. As the governing body of college tennis, the ITA oversees men’s and women’s varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and II, NAIA and Junior/Community College divisions. The ITA administers a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men’s and women’s varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court. For more information on the ITA, visit the ITA website at www.itatennis.com , like the ITA on Facebook or follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter and Instagram.


2018     Rick Barton   -- Harvard University, 1971
2017     Howard Lutnick  -- Haverford College, 1983
2016     Brian Hainline, M.D. -- University of Notre Dame, 1978
2015     John Bridgeland -- Harvard University, 1982
2014     Lynn Tilton -- Yale University, 1981
2013     Roger Crawford -- Loyola Marymount University, 1982
2012     General Ann E. Dunwoody -- State University of New York at Cortland, 1975
2011     Jon D. Erickson -- University of Michigan, 1959
2010     Robert A Swift -- Haverford College, 1968
2009     John L. Thornton -- Harvard University, 1976
2008     Sheridan Snyder -- University of Virginia, 1958
2007     Dr. Geoffrey Tabin -- Yale University, 1978
2006     Thomas Cundy -- Florida State University, 1955
2005     Steve Appleton -- Boise State University, 1982
2004     Dr. George Fareed -- University of California, 1966
2003     Gene Sperling -- University of Minnesota, 1982
2002     Jack Blanton, Sr. -- University of Texas, 1947
2001     Patricia Beckford Acheson -- Queens College, 1972
2001     Judge Gerald E. -- Kalamazoo College, 1973
2000     Dr. Ruth M. Haude -- Indiana State (PA), 1958
2000     Dr. Michael P. Johnson -- Clark University, 1979
1999     Christine Grant -- Swarthmore College, 1969
1999     Governor Pedro Rossello -- University of Notre Dame, 1966
1998     Lieutenant Colonel Gail Allen -- Air Force Academy, 1982
1998     Dr. William Bowen -- Denison University, 1955
1997     Dr. Bert Vogelstein -- University of Pennsylvania, 1981
1997     Lisa Hoffstein -- University of Pennsylvania, 1981
1996     Roger B. Porter -- Brigham Young University, 1969
1996     Wilma A. Lewis -- Swarthmore College, 1978
1995     Dr. Rebecca Birchmore Campen -- University of Georgia, 1963
1995     Senator John Breaux -- University of Southwestern Louisiana, 1964
1994     Judge Peggy Brenden -- Luther College, 1976
1994     Athan James Shaka -- Harvey Mudd College, 1980