> ITA Tennis Homepage > Awards > Achievement Award

ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award Graphic(2)-2017-02-01


  Nominations Open For 2017 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award



Please submit nominations no later than March 31, 2017.

This unique and prestigious award was created by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association to honor past participants in the world of collegiate tennis, who have achieved excellence in a chosen career (outside the world of professional tennis) and, in doing so, have made special contributions to society.

Applicant must have graduated from a four-year American college and lettered a minimum of one year on the school’s varsity tennis team.

Award Selection
The ITA will select a minimum of three finalists from all the applications received from the candidates, to be reviewed by the Selection Panel. One recipient (either a man or woman) will be selected as the 2017 ITA David A Benjamin Achievement Award winner.

Recognition and Award Ceremony
The winner will be honored by the ITA at a special award ceremony that will take place on Saturday, September 9, 2017 at the International Tennis Hall of Fame (ITHF) Board of Governors meeting at the New York Grand Hyatt Hotel. Stan Smith will present the winner with a framed certificate and a specially engraved Rolex timepiece. It is expected that the ITA Achievement Award Laureate (and guest) will also attend a session of the US Open, courtesy of the USTA, and will be recognized later that same evening during the ITHF Legends Ball. In addition, the honoree will be featured on the ITA Website and in a special commemorative brochure.

Donation to Institution
The ITA will make a donation of $2,500.00 to the varsity tennis program of the undergraduate institution at which the award winner participated on the tennis team and received a four-year degree.

If you have any questions, please contact Rachel Dagen, rdagen@itatennis.com, Director of Special Projects & Assistant to the CEO.

For additional information about the ITA David A Benjamin Award, please read the ITA Achievement Award Endowed release.


2016     Brian Hainline, M.D. -- University of Notre Dame, 1978
2015     John Bridgeland -- Harvard University, 1982

2014     Lynn Tilton -- Yale University, 1981

2013     Roger Crawford -- Loyola Marymount University, 1982

2012     General Ann E. Dunwoody -- State University of New York at Cortland, 1975

2011     Jon D. Erickson -- University of Michigan, 1959

2010     Robert A Swift -- Haverford College, 1968

2009     John L. Thornton -- Harvard University, 1976

2008     Sheridan Snyder -- University of Virginia, 1958

2007     Dr. Geoffrey Tabin -- Yale University, 1978

2006     Thomas Cundy -- Florida State University, 1955

2005     Steve Appleton -- Boise State University, 1982

2004     Dr. George Fareed -- University of California, 1966

2003     Gene Sperling -- University of Minnesota, 1982

2002     Jack Blanton, Sr. -- University of Texas, 1947

2001     Patricia Beckford Acheson -- Queens College, 1972

2001     Judge Gerald E. Rosen -- Kalamazoo College, 1973

2000     Dr. Ruth M. Haude -- Indiana State (PA), 1958

2000     Dr. Michael P. Johnson -- Clark University, 1979

1999     Christine Grant -- Swarthmore College, 1969

1999     Governor Pedro Rossello -- University of Notre Dame, 1966

1998     Lieutenant Colonel Gail Allen -- Air Force Academy, 1982

1998     Dr. William Bowen -- Denison University, 1955

1997     Dr. Bert Vogelstein -- University of Pennsylvania, 1981

1997     Lisa Hoffstein -- University of Pennsylvania, 1981

1996     Roger B. Porter -- Brigham Young University, 1969

1996     Wilma A. Lewis -- Swarthmore College, 1978

1995     Dr. Rebecca Birchmore Campen -- University of Georgia, 1963

1995     Senator John Breaux -- University of Southwestern Louisiana, 1964

1994     Judge Peggy Brenden -- Luther College, 1976

1994     Athan James Shaka -- Harvey Mudd College, 1980