2014 ITA Summer Circuit

Nearly 30,000 men and women have competed in ITA Summer Circuit events since it began in 1993. The circuit provides college (and junior and alumni) players the opportunity to compete in organized events virtually year round. Although the primary focus of the circuit is to provide incoming freshmen and collegiate players the chance to compete in the summer months, for NCAA compliance purposes, the events within the ITA Summer Circuit are categorized as "open"; therefore anyone is eligible to compete in these events as long as he/she is a current ITA member.

ITA Summer Circuit LogoThe ITA Summer Circuit is currently made up of nine regional circuits (Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast, Midwest, Central, Mountain, Texas, Northern California and Southern California) consisting of four consecutive open tournaments played during the month of July, leading up to the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships in Bloomington, Indiana in August.

The entry fee for all Summer Circuit tournaments is $60 (includes singles and doubles), with the exception of the National Clay Court Championships (Mt. Lebanon/Pittsburgh) and the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships which are both $70 (includes singles and doubles). All tournaments will use a 10-point match tie-breaker for the third set of singles; all doubles will be 8 game pro-sets. An American player who competes in at least 3 tournaments and is the point leader for that Region will automatically qualify and receive some travel reimbursement for the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships (point chart is below). Additional information and draws specific to each tournament can be found below. Players are permitted to withdraw from a Summer Circuit event up to 10 days prior to the start of the event. If a player withdraws within 10 days of the start of the event he/she forfeits their entry fee. The withdraw policy is agreed to by all entrants during the online registration process.

2014 Summer Circuit Coverage

Point Chart Host Site Application

Registration available early May

Circuit Dates Tournament Director Email
Southern California      
Laguna Nigel July 5-7 Mark Spearman mes@spearmanclubs.com
U. of  La Verne-Upland July 12-14 Yolanda Duron yduron@laverne.edu
Azusa Pacific July 19-21 Mark Bohren mbohren@apu.edu
Cal State LA July 26-28 Sandy Kriezel sandy.kriezel@calstatela.edu
Northern California      
San Jose State July 5-7 Sylvain Malroux sylvain.malroux@sjsu.edu
U.C. Davis July 12-14 Eric Steidlmayer esteidlm@ucdavis.edu
University of Pacific July 19-21 Ryan Redondo rredondo@pacific.edu
Sonoma State July 26-28 Steve Cunninghame steve.cunninghame@sonoma.edu
Pittsburgh June 30-July 4 Hank Hughes hank10spro@comcast.net
Wellesley College July 12-14 Brian Kuscher bkuscher@wellesley.edu
Rutgers July 19-21 Benjamin Bucca, Jr. bbucca@scarletknights.com
Cornell July 26-28  Mike Stevens mgs229@cornell.edu
Mary Washington June 28-30 Todd Helbling thelblin@umw.edu
Virginia Tech July 5-7 Jim Thompson vttennis@vt.edu
UNC Charlotte July 19-22 Billy Boykin wboykin@uncc.edu
UNC Greensboro July 26-29 Jeff Trivette uncgtennis@uncg.edu 
Purdue July 5-7 Laura Giltz lgiltz@purdue.edu
Western Michigan July 12-14 Ran Tomlinson ryan.tomlinson@wmich.edu
Notre Dame July 19-21 Ryan Sachire ryan.r.sachire.2@nd.edu
Indiana July 26-28 Ramiro Azcui razcui@indiana.edu
UM Kansas City June 27-29 Scott Hanover ptcguy@yahoo.com
Wichita State July 5-7    Colin Foster cfoster@goshockers.com
U. of Kansas July 18-20 Todd Chapman todd.chapman@ku.edu
U. of Oklahoma July 26-28 Cristina Moros moros@ou.edu
U. of New Mexico June 28-30 Bob Scott/Erica Jasper ejasper@unm.edu
U. of Colorado July 12-14 Nicole Kenneally nicole.kenneally@colorado.edu
U. of Denver July 19-21 David Lowenthal david.loewenthal@du.edu
Florida State July 6-8 Jennifer Hyde jhyde@fsu.edu
Middle Tennessee July 12-14 Jimmy Borendame mttennis@mtsu.edu
Alabama July 19-21 Jenny Mainz jmainz@ia.ua.edu
Florida July 26-28 Dave Balogh davidb@gators.uaa.ufl.edu
ACU July 5-7 John Walker jtw03e@acu.edu
UT-Dallas July 12-15 Bryan Whitt bwhitt@utdallas.edu
UT Arlington July 19-22 Diego Benitez dbenitez@uta.edu
Texas A & M July 25-28 Mark Weaver mweaver@athletics.tamu.edu
National Championships
(Open Event)
ITA/USTA National
Summer Championships
August 9-12 Ramiro Azcui razcui@indiana.edu


2013 ITA
Summer Circuit Results
 Summer Circuit Results

Additional Information
  • Coaches Workspace
  • Players in the Pros
  • ITA Advantage - Member Discounts

  • Subscribe to the ITA Newsletter!