> ITA Tennis Homepage > Events > ITA Summer Circuit

Summer Circuit Tile-2017-04-06

About ITA Summer Circuit powered by UTR

The ITA Summer Circuit was created to provide college players the opportunity to compete in organized events year-round. Although the primary purpose of the circuit is to provide incoming freshman and collegiate players the chance to compete in the summer months, for NCAA compliance purposes, the events are categorized as “open”; therefore, anyone (including high level juniors and adults) is eligible to compete in these events as long as he/she is a current ITA member. The ITA Summer Circuit is currently made up of 49 events over six consecutive weekends, beginning in mid- June and continuing through the last weekend in July.


ITA Summer Playing Membership

All participants must purchase a 2018 ITA Summer Playing Membership ($30) in order to compete in a Summer Circuit event. Participants can only purchase an ITA membership through the ITA website.  After purchasing an ITA membership, participants will receive a confirmation email that provides them with their 2018 ITA Member ID number along with tournament registration PIN numbers. These PIN numbers will be needed in order to register for each Summer Circuit tournament.


Tournament Registration & Wait Lists

All Summer Circuit events are open to all players on a first-come, first-serve basis - there is no selection process for entry into an event. Entry Fees are $65 (plus processing fees) and include both singles and doubles. Each tournament director will have the ability to limit the number of registrants he/she will accept into the tournament by setting a maximum draw size capacity. Once a draw (men’s or women’s) is at capacity, the UTR tournament management platform will add players to a wait list.  Alternates/wait listed players may be moved into the competitor field up until the time draws have been published. Once draws have been published, any withdrawals or no-shows should result in a walkover. No on-site alternates will be allowed.


Refund Policy

A full refund of $65 will be issued directly back to the credit card used to pay for the entry for players that withdraw from a Summer Circuit event up to 10 days prior to the start of the event. If a player withdraws within 10 days of the start of the event, he/she forfeits their entry fee.


Doubles Registration

Doubles sign up and pairing is not a part of the official registration process unless you are playing DOUBLES ONLY and not playing Singles. Instead doubles signup with your partner will be conducted by each individual tournament director. The exact procedures and open & close times for doubles sign up will be published by the tournament director. Players will be able to see fellow competitors on the UTR Events platform competitor list if they would like to reach out to potential partners.  All players that will be in Singles should register for the Draws titled either Men’s Singles (includes Doubles) or Women’s Singles (includes Doubles). Doubles Only players should register for the Draws titled either Men’s Doubles Only or Women’s Doubles Only (Once registered, Doubles Only players are still responsible for communicating his/her partner to the Tournament Director through the means stated on each tournament page.  Doubles Only players pay the same entry fee, $65 per player.


Draws & Seeding

In an effort with UTR to promote level-based play and decrease the number of non-competitive matches in the circuit, once registration is complete, competitor fields will be divided into draws no larger than 32 participants and based on player UTRs.   Tournament directors will seed 25% of each draw based on player UTRs.


Consolation

All events will provide first match loser consolation (FMLC) in all singles draws. All doubles draws are single elimination with no consolation matches unless the tournament director specifies otherwise.


Scoring Format

The scoring format for singles will be 2 out of 3 sets with a 10-point match tie break in lieu of a 3rd set using no-ad scoring. Doubles will play an 8-game pro-set using no-ad scoring with a 7-point tie break held at 7-all. Men’s draws will use the Division I collegiate no-let rule.


ITA Summer Circuit Points Race

The ITA office will track points and post a “points race standings” each week on the ITA website. At the conclusion of the circuit, the top 5 men and the top 5 women will receive automatic entry into the ITA National Summer Championships as well as a $600 travel reimbursement to be used towards the expense of attending the ITA National Summer Championships at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth, Texas.

To be able to register for any ITA Summer Circuit tournaments, you must be an active ITA member. 

Click here to purchase a Summer Playing Membership.

          
 ITA SUMMER CIRCUIT TOURNAMENT REGISTRATION OPENS:  MAY 18

Week 1
Host School Dates Tournament Director Email
Abilene Christian University (TX) June 23-25 John Walker jtw03e@acu.edu Register
Chapman University (CA) June 23-25 Will Marino wmarino@chapman.edu Register
Northwestern University (IL) June 23-25 Jennifer Lutgert j-lutgert@northwestern.edu Register
University of Central Florida** June 23-25 Scott Treibly scott.usta@gmail.com Coming Soon
University of Louisville June 23-25 Meg Peavy Meg.peavy@louisville.edu Register
University of Minnesota*** June 22-24 Mason Hemmer hemme039@umn.edu Register
University of the Pacific (CA) June 23-25 Mike Erwin merwin@pacific.edu Register
Wake Forest University June 23-25 Jeff Wyshner wyshner@wfu.edu Register
Wichita State University June 23-25 Colin Foster colin.foster@wichita.edu Register
 ** Hosted at the USTA National Campus - Lake Nona      
 *** Friday - Sunday Event      
Week 2
Host School Dates Tournament Director Email
Colby College (ME) June 30-July 2 Jason Cohen jmcohen@colby.edu Register
Elon University (NC) June 30-July 2 Elizabeth Anderson eperry4@elon.edu Register
Palm Beach Atlantic Univ. (FL) June 30-July 2 Chi Ly Chi_Ly@pba.edu Register
Pomona-Pitzer (CA) June 30-July 2 Steve Bickham steve.bickham@pomona.edu Register
Rutgers University (NJ) June 30-July 2 Hilary Ritchie hritchie@scarletknights.com Register
Tyler Junior College (TX) June 30-July 2 Dash Connell jcon@tjc.edu Register
UC Davis (CA) June 30-July 2 Eric Steidlmayer esteidlm@ucdavis.edu Register
Univ. of Missouri-Kansas City** June 29-July 1 Scott Hanover ptcguy@yahoo.com Register
University of Illinois June 30-July 2 Christine Stromberg cstromb2@illinois.edu Register
** Friday - Sunday Event      
Week 3
Host School Dates Tournament Director Email
Cal State Northridge July 7-9 James Ciuffo Jciuffo@gmail.com Register
Gustavus Adolphus College (MN) July 7-9 Jon Carlson carlson@gac.edu Register
Kansas State University July 7-9 Jordan Smith jsmith@kstatesports.com Register
St. Mary's College (CA) July 7-9 Greg Kennett gfk1@stmarys-ca.edu Register
UNC Charlotte July 7-9 Michaela Gorman m.gorman@uncc.edu Register
University of Alabama July 7-9 Jenny Mainz Jmainz@ia.ua.edu Register
UT Dallas (TX) July 7-9 Bryan Whitt bwhitt@utdallas.edu Register
Warner University (FL) July 7-9 Jose D. Martinez jose.martinez@warner.edu Register
Western Michigan University July 7-9 Ryan Tomlinson ryan.tomlinson@wmich.edu Register
       
Week 4
Host School Dates Tournament Director Email
Claremont Mudd Scripps (CA) July 14-16 Kathy Settles kathy@settlestennis.com Register
Georgia Southern University July 14-16 Sander Koning akoning@georgiasouthern.edu Register
Lewis & Clark College (OR) July 14-16 Patrick Dreves tennis@lclark.edu Register
Middle Tennessee State July 14-16 Jimmy Borendame Jimmy.borendame@mtsu.edu Register
University of Nebraska July 14-16 German Dalmagro gdalmagro@huskers.com Register
University of Notre Dame (IN) July 14-16 Ryan Sachire sachire.2@nd.edu Register
UT Arlington (TX) July 14-16 Diego Benitez dbenitez@uta.edu Register
Wellesley College (MA)** July 14-16 Brian Kuscher bkuscher@wellesley.edu Register
 **Indoor Event      
Week 5
Host School Dates Tournament Director Email
Azusa Pacific University (CA)** July 21-23 Mark Bohren Mbohren@apu.edu Register
Baylor University July 21-23 Joey Scrivano joey_scrivano@baylor.edu Coming Soon
Furman University (SC) July 21-23 Adam Herendeen Adam.Herendeen@furman.edu Register
Michigan State University July 21-23 Gene Orlando orlando@ath.msu.edu Register
University of Kansas July 21-23 Todd Chapman todd.chapman@ku.edu Register
 ** Hosted at Citrus College      
Week 6
Host School Dates Tournament Director Email
Boise State University July 28-30 Beck Roghaar beckroghaar@boisestate.edu Coming Soon
Cal State LA** July 28-30 Sandy Kriezel sandy.kriezel@calstatela.edu Register
Georgia Gwinnett College July 28-30 Chase Hodges chasehodges@ggc.edu Register
Indiana University July 28-30 Jeremy Wurtzman wurtzman@iu.edu Register
North Carolina State July 28-30 Cris James cdjames5@ncsu.edu Register
Ramapo College of New Jersey July 28-30 Raza Baig rbaig@ramapo.edu Register
Sonoma State University (CA) July 28-30 Wendy Gurwitz wgurwitz@hotmail.com Register
Texas Tech University July 28-30 Todd Petty todd.petty@ttu.edu Register
 ** Hosted at Whittier Narrows        
         
 ITA National Summer Championships      
 Host School Dates Tournament Director Email  
 Texas Christian University August 10-14** Lee Taylor Walker  l.t.walker@tcu.edu  
   ** Singles Qualifying on Friday, August 10th.  Main Draw begins Saturday, August 11th.  

 

2017 ITA
Summer Circuit Results

2016 ITA
Summer Circuit Results

2014 ITA
Summer Circuit Results

2013 ITA
Summer Circuit Results
 Summer Circuit Results