East Tennessee State

First Round: Tennessee (L, 0-4) 

Official Site

SCHOOL/RECORD: East Tennessee State (13-8) - #61
CONFERENCE: Atlantic Sun
HEAD COACH/RECORD: Yaser Zaatini (135-43)
BEST NCAA FINISH: Second Round (2008)

2009 TEAM HIGHLIGHTS: Played one of the toughest schedules in the nation, opened with road matches at ITA-ranked teams Duke, North Carolina, Elon, Tennessee, Virginia, Georgia, Minnesota, Wisconsin and Wake Forest, while hosting Middle Tennessee… The Bucs won their third straight A-Sun regular season and conference tournament extending its league winning streak to 34 straight matches… won at No. 36 Wisconsin and and held a 2-0 advantage at No. 3 Georgia, Feb. 6

PLAYER/COACH HIGHLIGHTS: Head coach Yaser Zaatini earned his third straight A-Sun Coach of the Year award and fifth Coach of the Year honor overall (SoCon 04-05/A-Sun 07-09)… Senior Enrique Olivares- highest & first top-10 ranked player in A-Sun history… won the Southern Intercollegiate singles title and finish second in doubles, runner-up at UVA Ranked Plus One, semifinalist at ITA All-American and quarterfinalist at ITA National Indoors, went 17-9 against ranked teams with wins over then No. 2 Bruno Agostinelli of Kentucky, No. 9 J.P. Smith of Tennessee and No. 11 Michael Shabez of Virginia… won 11 wins against ITA ranked players (Five in the top-25)… took home a record third straight A-Sun Player of the Year and tournament MVP awards.

Additional Information