ITA/USTA National Summer Championships to Begin Saturday

ITA/USTA National Summer Championships to Begin Saturday

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The ITA/USTA National Summer Championships begin this Saturday, August 7th at the Indiana University Varsity Tennis Center. Summer_Championship_Logo_2010_web

The ITA/USTA National Summer Championships are the pinnacle of the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, which was played at 32 regional sites throughout the country last month. A total of 2,965 players participated in ITA Summer Circuit events this year, falling just short of 2009’s record-breaking mark of 2,976.

Nearly 30,000 men and women have competed in ITA Summer Circuit events since it began in 1993. The circuit provides college (and junior and alumni) players the opportunity to compete in organized events virtually year round. Although the primary focus of the circuit is to provide incoming freshman and collegiate players the chance to compete in the summer months, for NCAA compliance purposes, the events within the ITA Summer Circuit are categorized as "open"; therefore anyone is eligible to compete in these events as long as he/she is a current ITA member.

New in 2010 is the addition of the Mid-Atlantic Circuit as well as a fourth site (New Mexico) in the Mountain Circuit. The ITA Summer Circuit is currently made up of eight regional circuits (East, Mid-Atlantic, Southeast, Midwest, Central, Mountain, Southwest and West) and all eight regions consist of four consecutive open tournaments played during the month of July, leading up to the August 7-11 ITA/USTA National Summer Championships in Bloomington, Indiana.

This week's top four men's seeds are: Daniel Stahl (Notre Dame), Elliot Potvin (Georgia Tech), Devin McCarthy (Ohio State), and Stephen Havens (Notre Dame). The top four women's seeds are: Keri Wong (Clemson), Emily Fraser (Virginia), Erin Vierra (Virginia), and Christine McGaffigan (Notre Dame).

The singles and doubles champions from the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships earn wild cards into the first national tournaments of the 2010-11 collegiate tennis season - the D'Novo Men's and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships in early October.

The ITA/USTA National Summer Championships include men’s and women’s singles and doubles. Natalie Pluskota from Tennessee and Alex Clayton from Stanford captured last year's singles titles in Bloomington. Past tournament finalists include current touring pros: Amer Delic (Illinois), Julie Ditty (Vanderbilt), Jennifer Russell (Purdue), K.J. Hippensteel (Stanford), Jim Thomas (Stanford) and Brian Vahaly (Virginia).

This is the ninth straight year IU is serving as tournament host (admission is free). IU assistant women's tennis coach Ramiro Azcui is serving as tournament director.

Draws and start times for Saturday's opening round matches will be available on the IU and ITA websites at and on Friday.

Additional Information