DePauw Set to Host 2nd Annual ITA Division III Women’s Team Indoors

DePauw Set to Host 2nd Annual ITA Division III Women’s Team Indoors

GREENCASTLE, Ind. - DePauw Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Division III Women's Team Indoor Championship, scheduled to take place February 26-28, 2010 in Greencastle, Indiana. Eight of the top 13 teams in Division III women’s tennis will square off to determine the event’s second champion.

Carnegie Mellon will look to defend their 2009 title as the #4 seed entering the tournament. The Tartans were the tournament’s No. 5 seed last year and took the event by storm, marching through the draw, posting three straight upsets in as many days to capture the event’s first title with a 6-3 win over No. 2 Emory in the Championship match.

Joining the defending champs (#6 in the current Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings) and host institution, DePauw (#11), will be 2009 Finalist and top-seeded Emory University (#3), University of Chicago (#4), Washington and Lee University (#5), Denison University (#8), Johns Hopkins University (#10) and last year’s event host, Gustavus Adolphus College (#13).

The tournament will begin on Friday morning at 11:30 a.m. with top-seeded Emory facing No. 8 Gustavus Adolphus and No. 4 Carnegie Mellon versus No. 5 Denison. The later matches are slated for 5:00 p.m., pitting No. 3 Washington and Lee against No. 6 Johns Hopkins while No. 2 Chicago squares off against No. 7 DePauw. Saturday's schedule has the losers of Friday's matches playing in consolation matches beginning at 8:30 a.m., while the winners will play in semifinal matches beginning at 2:00 p.m. The final Consolation rounds are slated to start at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday. The third place and championship matches will begin at 9:00 am on Sunday morning.
*Please note that all times are central.

Many of the top players in Division III will be taking part in the tournament including NCAA Division III Champions, ITA National Small College Champions and the recent recipient of the James O’Hara Sargent Sportsmanship award.

Kendra Higgins, a sophomore from the University of Chicago has captured all of the above in her college career already. After capturing the NCAA Division III Doubles title with current doubles partner, Chrissy Hu, Higgins entered the ITA National Small College Championships with high expectations, seeded No. 1 in doubles and No. 2 in singles. She did make it to the finals in Division III singles but was also named the recipient of the James O’Hara Sargent Sportsmanship Award.

Joining Higgins in the conversation for Division III women’s top player is Emory’s Lorne McManigle, the 2009 NCAA Division III Singles Champion. McManigle finished the ranked No. 1 in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings and was a member of the 2009 ITA All-Star Team. A pair of 2008 ITA National Small College Singles finalists that squared off against one another for the title will have the opportunity for a rematch as 2008 singles champion, Jennifer Kung of the University of Chicago and finalist Laura Chen of Carnegie Mellon will both be seeking to guide their teams to the elusive team indoor title.

This newest addition to the ITA national tournament calendar joined its men's counterpart, the ITA National Division III Men's Team Indoor Championships, which was hosted by Gustavus Adolphus for the eighth-consecutive year last weekend, February 19-21 at the Swanson Tennis Center in St. Peter, Minn.

For complete tournament results and information, please visit

Additional Information