> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > Northwestern’s Lauren Lui receives ITA Sportsmanship Award

Northwestern’s Lauren Lui receives ITA Sportsmanship Award

MADISON, Wis. – Lauren Lui of Northwestern University received the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Sportsmanship Award Sunday at the ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championships, hosted by the University of Wisconsin at A.C. Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

Lui, a junior from Houston, Texas was chosen for this annual award by the 16 participating coaches for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the Team Indoor Championships as well as throughout her career.

Lui plays No. 4 singles and No. 1 doubles for the top-ranked Wildcats. This year, she has posted a singles record of 16-9, while her and partner Georgia Rose have accumulated a 14-8 record and are currently ranked No. 25 nationally in doubles. Northwestern has advanced to the semifinals of the ITA National Team Indoors with victories over Miami (FL) in the first round and No. 2 Duke in the quarterfinals.

Lui is the first Northwestern player and first from the Big Ten conference to be presented with the award.

The ITA National Team Indoor Championships will conclude tomorrow with the championship match scheduled for 11:00 a.m. (CT).

Past USTA Sportsmanship Award Winners:

2008 - Brook Buck, Notre Dame
2007 - Jenna Long, North Carolina
2006 - Natalie Frazier, Georgia
2005 - Kendall Cline, North Carolina
2004 - Amber Liu, Stanford
2003 - Sara Walker, UCLA
2002 - Janet Bergman, Wake Forest
2001 - Keiko Tokuda, Stanford
2000 - Alison Ojeda, Tennessee
1999 - Jennifer Hall, Notre Dame
1998 - Julie Scott, Stanford
1997 - Lauren Nikolaus, William & Mary
1996 - Margie Lepsi, Tennessee
1995 - Dana Evans, Wake Forest
1994 - Wendy Crabtree, Notre Dame
1993 - Erica Kuttler, Florida