NCAA Men's Team Championship Selection Announcement



Kristin W. Fasbender, NCAA
Associate Director of Championships

INDIANAPOLIS--The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships.

First- and second-round competition will be conducted Friday-Saturday, May 8-9, with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas, hosted by Texas A&M University. The team championship will be held May 14-19.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first- and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the finals site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion. The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

The complete list of teams and sites are included on the attached bracket.

Thirty-one conferences receive automatic qualification into the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships. Each conference and its automatic qualifier are listed below.

  • America East – Binghamton
  • Atlantic 10 – Xavier
  • Atlantic Coast – Virginia
  • Atlantic Sun – East Tennessee State
  • Big East – South Florida
  • Big Sky – Sacramento State
  • Big South – Radford
  • Big Ten – Ohio State
  • Big 12 – Baylor
  • Big West – UC Santa Barbara
  • Colonial – North Carolina-Wilmington
  • C-USA – Tulsa
  • Horizon – Cleveland State
  • Ivy – Columbia
  • Metro Atlantic – Marist
  • MAC – Western Michigan
  • Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
  • Missouri Valley – Southern Illinois
  • Mountain West – New Mexico
  • Northeast – Sacred Heart
  • Ohio Valley – Jacksonville State
  • Pacific-10 – UCLA
  • Patriot – Navy
  • SEC – Mississippi
  • Southern – Furman
  • Southland – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
  • SWAC – Alcorn State
  • Summit – UMKC
  • Sun Belt – Middle Tennessee
  • West Coast – Pepperdine
  • WAC – Hawaii

Additional Information