> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > Men’s and Women’s Draws Announced for 2009 Australian Open Wild Card Playoffs

Men’s and Women’s Draws Announced for 2009 Australian Open Wild Card Playoffs

Courtesy: USTA

The USTA is hosting playoffs this weekend to award a men’s and a women’s singles main draw wild card to the 2010 Australian Open.  The Australian Open wild card playoffs will be held December 4-7 at the Racquet Club of the South, a USTA Certified Regional Training Center, in Atlanta.  The USTA and Tennis Australia have a reciprocal agreement in which wild card entries into the main draw at the 2009 US Open and 2010 Australian Open are exchanged. 
Both tournaments will be in a knock-out format, the seedings of which were determined by Monday’s ATP World Tour and Sony Ericsson WTA rankings. 
The men’s and women’s draws are as follows:

Men’s Draw
Jesse Levine (#1) vs. Tennys Sandgren (#8)
Lester Cook (#4) vs. Michael McClune (#5)
Donald Young (#2) vs. Jack Sock (#7)
Alex Kuznetsov (#3) vs. Ryan Harrison (#6)

Women’s Draw
Madison Brengle (#1) vs. Julia Boserup (#8)
Julia Cohen (#4) vs. CoCo Vandeweghe (#5)
Alison Riske (#2) vs. Ester Goldfeld (#7)
Christina McHale (#3) vs. Asia Muhammed (#6)

Lester Cook of Sherman Oaks, Calif., and Tennys Sandgren of Gallatin, Tenn., replaced Wayne Odesnik and Ryan Sweeting in the men’s field, while Julia Boserup of Boca Raton, Fla., replaced Lauren Albanese in the women’s field.
McHale won a similar event last December to earn main draw wild cards into the 2009 Australian Open, while Brengle won playoffs to earn entry into the 2007 and 2008 Australian Opens and the 2008 French Open.
To find daily results or for more information please go to: www.usta.com