> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > DESTINATION: COLLEGE STATION


Championship Info: The 2009 NCAA Men’s and Women’s Division I Tennis Championships will take place at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas, May 14-25. The round of 16 through the finals of the team tournaments is May 14-19 and the singles and doubles championships take place May 20-25. Tickets are now on sale for this year’s championships and can be purchased at 888/99-AGGIE or www.AggieAthletics.com. Follow the road to the finals by visiting the ITA’s Championship Centralpage for results, recaps, previews and team links.

Top Spots:
The top-seeded Northwestern women (27-1) and Virginia men (31-0) are looking to win their first-ever NCAA championships in men’s and women’s tennis, respectively. Virginia would become just the sixth undefeated champion since the NCAA added a team tournament in 1977. The previous NCAA men’s champions with perfect records are Stanford (’78, ’95 and ’98), Illinois (2003) and Georgia (2007). Virginia takes on conference rival Florida State in the round of 16 while Northwestern matches up against Fresno State in the next round of play. Complete draws are available on www.itatennis.com.

Sweet 16: Five schools have advanced both their men’s and women’s programs to the Round of 16 (Baylor, Georgia, Miami (FL), Stanford and UCLA). Of the top 16 seeded teams, 13 have advanced on the men’s side while 14 of the top 16 have moved on in the women’s bracket.

Men's Sweet 16

Women's Sweet 16

(6) Baylor (Next: Wake Forest)

(14) Arkansas (Next: Duke)

Boise State (Next: Ohio State)

(4) Baylor (Next: Stanford)

(16) Florida State (Next: Virginia)

(8) California (Next: Georgia Tech)

(4) Georgia (Next: Illinois)

(12) Clemson (Next: Notre Dame)

(13) Illinois (Next: Georgia)

(3) Duke (Next: Arkansas)

Miami-FL (Next: UCLA)

(15) Florida (Next: Georgia)

(2) Ole Miss (Next: Texas A&M)

(16) Fresno State (Next: Northwestern)

(3) Ohio State (Next: Boise State)

(2) Georgia (Next: Florida)

(9) Stanford (Next: USC)

(9) Georgia Tech (Next: California)

(5) Tennessee (Next: Texas)

(6) Miami-FL (Next: UCLA)

(12) Texas (Next: Tennessee)

(1) Northwestern (Next: Fresno State)

(15) Texas A&M (Next: Ole Miss)

(5) Notre Dame (Next: Clemson)

(7) UCLA (Next: Miami-FL)

South Carolina (Next: Washington)

(8) USC (Next: Stanford)

(13) Stanford (Next: Baylor)

(1) Virginia (Next: Florida State)

(11) UCLA (Next: Miami-FL)

Wake Forest (Next: Baylor)

Washington (Next: South Carolina)

Yale to Host 2009 ITA National Indoors: The ITA announced that Yale will host the 2009 ITA National Indoor Championships at the Cullman-Heyman Tennis Center in New Haven, CT, November 5-8, 2009. This event was inaugurated in 1978 for the men and 1984 for the women which features the nation's top men's and women's collegiate tennis players competing in a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women.

The Cullman-Heyman Tennis Center is one of the premiere collegiate indoor tennis facilities in the country. The facility officially opened on November 1st, 2008, which features 8 indoor courts, providing great viewing while maximizing the spectator experience.

"The ITA is delighted that our ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Singles and Doubles Championships will be the first National collegiate tennis championship ever hosted by the Yale University," said Executive Director, David A Benjamin. "We've heard wonderful things about the Cullman-Hayman Tennis Center and know that all of our varsity student-athletes are looking forward greatly to participating in this event."

“We are thrilled for Yale to be selected as the host institution for the ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Tennis Championships, and we are honored that our new Cullman-Heyman Tennis Center has been deemed a worthy venue for such a prestigious event,” said Alex Dorato, Cary Leeds Coach of Men’s Tennis and Danielle McNamara, Head Coach Women’s Tennis. “We look forward to welcoming the top players in the nation and to putting on a truly memorable tournament this fall.”

Singled Out:
Listed below are the top eight men’s and women’s seeds competing in singles. The singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 20-25 at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center in College Station, Texas, following the conclusion of the team championship

Men’s Singles


1. Arnau Brugues


2. Oleksandr Nedovyesov

Oklahoma State

3. Bryan Koniecko

Ohio State

4. Denes Lukacs


5. Bruno Agostinelli


6. John-Patrick Smith


7. Michael Venus


8. Robert Farah

Southern California

Women’s Singles


1. Maria Mosolova


2. Julia Cohen

Miami (Florida)

3. Aurelija Miseviciute


4. Ani Mijacika


5. Mallory Cecil


6. Fani Chifchieva


7. Hilary Barte


8. Chelsey Gullickson


Race to the Finish:
The Mississippi men and Texas A&M women finished the 2009 season atop the second annual ITA Attendance Race standings for regular season home matches. Ole Miss drew 5,550 fans to its matches this season at the Palmer/Salloum Tennis Center and Gillom Tennis Center. The Rebels had a strong finish, fighting off 2008 Attendance Race champs, Virginia, and Georgia, each of which drew in over 5,000 fans this season. For the second year in a row, the Texas A&M women led the race from start to finish, packing in 4,583 fans at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center this season. All told, highlighting the 2009 ITA Attendance Race was the more than 60,000 fans taking in home matches for the top 10 men's and women’s race leaders.

While the 2009 regular season ITA Attendance Race has reached its end, there is still one more race to be completed…the 2009 postseason ITA Attendance Race. That’s right! In an attempt to show support this postseason, be sure to submit your attendance totals by May 29 if your team is hosting the NCAA first and second rounds. Congratulations to our regular season winners and good luck to those participating in the postseason!