> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > Campbell/ITA National College Players of the Year honored July 11


 Campbell/ITA National College Players of the Year honored
International Tennis Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Includes Top Collegiate Honors
Event Took Place During Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships

NEWPORT, RI – Duke’s Mallory Cecil and Oklahoma State’s Oleksandr Nedovyesov were honored as 2009 Campbell/ITA National College Players of the Year by the Campbell Soup Company and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) on Saturday, July 11, at the International Tennis Hall of Fame. For the first time, the honorees were recognized during the Hall of Fame Enshrinement Luncheon of 2009 International Tennis Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which took place on the final weekend of the Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships.

Tennis legend Stan Smith presented the honorees with the Campbell/ITA National College Player of the Year awards, given to one male and one female singles player who have had the most outstanding year in college tennis. This past February, the ITA announced that a multi-year agreement has been reached between the ITA and the Campbell Soup Company in which the company will serve as the title sponsor for the ITA College Tennis Rankings and the ITA College Players of the Year awards.

“Campbell Soup Company is pleased to play a role in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association,” said Jerry S. Buckley, Senior Vice President, Public Affairs, Campbell Soup Company. “College tennis players such as Mallory and Oleksandr represent the best of college athletics and help promote tennis to young people across the country. Campbell has long been committed to encouraging young people to lead a healthy lifestyle, including getting an appropriate amount of exercise.”

"The ITA is pleased to recognize these remarkable varsity student-athletes," said ITA Executive Director, David A Benjamin. "It is also a pleasure to recognize the Campbell/ITA National College Players of the Year in conjunction with the Campbell's Hall of Fame Tennis Championships for the first time. Many thanks to Campbell and the International Tennis Hall of Fame for providing this opportunity."

Cecil capped off her stellar rookie season by defeating Miami’s Laura Vallverdu to win the NCAA Women’s Tennis Singles Championship. The ITA Southeast Region Rookie of the Year became just the second player in Duke women’s tennis history to win the NCAA individual crown and the seventh freshman in NCAA history to take home the title with the most recent coming in 2005. She also became the 14th women’s tennis player in NCAA history and first in ACC history to win both a team national title and individual crown in the same season and the first to do so since 2004. Cecil closes out her season with a 32-4 record, marking the 46th time in program history a Blue Devil has eclipsed the 30-wins mark. Her 32 victories are tied for 32nd all-time. Playing No. 1 all season for Duke, she helped guide the Blue Devils to the team championship and a 29-3 record on the season.

Nedovyesov compiled a record of 35-7 and a No. 1 national ranking in singles and continues to rack up the individual honors. The three-year ITA All-American entered the fall season as the ITA preseason No. 1 singles player and lived up to the billing with a runner-up finish at the D'Novo Men's All-American Championship. He qualified for the ITA Indoor National Championship with a doubles win at the 2008 Wilson/ITA Central Region Championships, where he advanced to the quarterfinals before falling to eventual champion, Bryan Koniecko of Ohio State. Nedovyesov was recently selected as the 2009 ITA Men’s Player to Watch, was named Big 12 player of the year award for the second straight year and was also named the Big 12 Freshman and Newcomer of the Year in 2007. In his three years at OSU, he has been a unanimous All-Big 12 performer each year in singles and doubles. In 42 matches this season, Nedovyesov faced a ranked opponent in all but three matches including his last of the season versus 2009 Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship Award Winner, Blake Strode of Arkansas in the NCAA Singles Championship Round of 16.

About the Intercollegiate Tennis Association
As the governing body of collegiate tennis, the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit, presented by the USTA, and the Campbell/ITA Rankings for men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA web site is www.itatennis.com.

About Campbell Soup Company
Campbell Soup Company is a global manufacturer and marketer of high-quality foods and simple meals, including soup, baked snacks, and healthy beverages. Founded in 1869, the company has a portfolio of market-leading brands, including “Campbell’s,” “Pepperidge Farm,” “Arnott’s,” and “V8.” For more information on the company, visit Campbell’s website at www.campbellsoup.com.

About the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum
Establishment in 1954, the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the history and heritage of tennis and its champions.

About the Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships
Played for the Van Alen Cup on the legendary grass courts of the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, RI, the Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships, July 6-12, hosts a 32-draw singles tournament and a 16-draw doubles tournament featuring many of the top men in professional tennis from around the world. Tickets for Tuesday through Friday tennis sessions of the Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships can be ordered online at www.tennisfame.com or by calling 866-914-FAME. For more information, call 866-914-FAME. In conjunction with the Campbell’s Hall of Fame Tennis Championships, the International Tennis Hall of Fame will hold its annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Saturday, July 11 (12:30pm). The Class of 2009 is represented by Recent Player Monica Seles; Master Player Andres Gimeno; and Contributors Donald L. Dell; and Dr. Robert “Whirlwind” Johnson (posthumously).