> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > Auburn U-Montgomery wins 10th NAIA Women's National Championship

Lady Senators With 10th NAIA Women's Tennis National Championship

Lady Senators Celebrate Their 2009 NAIA National Championship

Lady Senators Celebrate Their 2009 NAIA National Championship

Courtesy: NAIA Official Site

MOBILE, Ala--Auburn University Montgomery (Ala.) blanked Fresno Pacific University (Calif.) 5-0 to win the 2009 NAIA Women's Tennis National Championship Saturday. The title is the sixth straight for the Lady Senators and 10th overall. It's the fourth straight time they have defeated the Lady Sunbirds in the finals.

The AUM dominance started with a sweep of doubles and then carried over to brilliant play in singles to wrap up the quick victory. Tereza Veverkova and Delia Sescioreanu teamed up to rally from 4-2 and 5-4 deficits to pick up an 8-5 win at No. 1 doubles, while the tandems of Yi Ching Chen - Julie Verdy and Dominika Zuzulova - Whitney Byrd cruised to 8-3 and 8-2 victories at No. 2 and No. 3 doubles, respectively.

Then, singles action was over quickly as the Lady Sunbirds could grab only two games in the two singles matches that went final. Zuzulova started singles with a quick 6-0, 6-0 victory over Brittany Salley, and Veverkova clinched the match by finishing off Vanessa Heroux 6-1, 6-1 to start the celebration.

Following the match, AUM Head Coach Scott Kidd was named Coach of the Year for the fifth straight season, while Sescioreanu was honored as the Marvin P. Richmond Outstanding Player.

Finals Match: Auburn University Montgomery (Ala.) def. Fresno Pacific University (Calif.) 5-0


#1 - Tereza Veverkova/Delia Sescioreanu (AUM) def. Katia Sabate/Vanessa Heroux (FPU) 8-5
#2 - Yi Ching Chen/Julie Verdy (AUM) def. Maria Klokotzky/Yulia Blinovskaya (FPU) 8-3
#3 - Dominika Zuzulova/Whitney Byrd (AUM) def. Elizabeth McFeeters/Brittany Salley (FPU) 8-2


#3 - Veverkova (AUM) def. Heroux (FPU) 6-1, 6-1
#6 - Zuzulova (AUM) def. Salley (FPU) 6-0, 6-0