> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > AASU Men's Tennis Captures Blue Gray Classic Title

AASU Men's Tennis Captures Blue Gray Classic Title


Courtesy: Armstrong Atlantic State Athletics

MONTGOMERY, Ala. - The No. 5-ranked Armstrong Atlantic State men's tennis team captured the 2009 Blue Gray Small College Classic title with a 5-2 win over No. 1-ranked (NAIA) Auburn Montgomery on Saturday afternoon.

The Pirates (18-1) claimed the Classic title for a second straight year, while handing Auburn Montgomery (12-2) just its second loss of the season.

AASU took two of three doubles matches from the Senators. AUM took a point at No. 1 doubles as Michael Johnson and Monte Tucker defeated Paul Bishop and Mikk Irdoja, 9-7. The Pirates picked up an 8-5 win at No. 2 doubles as Rafael Array and Tim Johannsen knocked off Nikola Miskovic and Francisco Redondo, 8-5, then won a tiebreaker at No. 3 doubles as Edualdo Bonet and Akos Torok beat Sadio Doumbia and Victor Sanakai Papi, 9-8 (9-7).

The Pirates then won three of four finished singles matches to claim the title. Bonet picked up a 6-4, 6-2 win over Papi at No. 1 singles, while Irdoja defeated Daniel Plasa, 6-4, 6-4, at No. 3 singles and Johannsen defeated Miskovic, 7-5, 6-4, at No. 6 singles. AUM's singles point came at No. 2 singles as Johnson defeated Bishop, 6-1, 6-2.

AASU returns to action on Friday, April 10, with a 2:30 p.m. match against Anderson (S.C.) at the AASU Tennis Complex.