> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2009 News Archive > 2009 ITA National Small College Championships to Take Place Oct. 15-18

2009 ITA National Small College Championships
Presented by the USTA

MOBILE, AL - The 2009 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Small College Championships, one of collegiate athletics' most unique events, will be taking place October 15-18 at the Copeland-Cox Tennis Center in Mobile, Alabama.
These championships, presented the United States Tennis Association, are being hosted by the Copeland-Cox Tennis Center, the world's largest public tennis facility, for the third consecutive year. This full-service facility includes over 60 courts, all lighted and hard-court, with a pro shop and professional instruction on site.
This event, administered by the ITA, dates back to 1986 and determines national champions for NCAA Divisions II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College men's and women's singles and doubles during the first two-and-a-half days of play. Those champions then compete to become the overall national small college champs (for all divisions) on October 17-18 in the ITA "Super Bowl" of Small College Tennis.
Each small college division features eight singles players and eight doubles teams who earned spots into this national event by winning their respective Wilson/ITA Regional Championships held over the past three weeks throughout the country. All told, over 5,000 student-athletes competed in 64 regional tournaments to earn spots in the national event.
This is the only national championship event for singles and doubles at the NCAA Division II and NAIA levels. It is also the only tournament that combines all levels of Junior/Community College (NJCAA Divisions I, II and III and the California division).
The overall ITA "Super Bowl" of Small College Tennis champions on Oct. 18 will earn wild cards into the Nov. 5-8 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, hosted by Yale University in New Haven, CT.
Small College tennis enjoys a rich tradition. Notable small college tennis players include the likes of Billie Jean King (Cal State Los Angeles), Brad Gilbert (Foothill Comm. College), Mikael Pernfors (Seminole Comm. College), Paul Haarhuis (Armstrong Atlantic State) and doubles greats Ken Flach and Robert Seguso (SIU-Edwardsville). More recent small college players who have enjoyed success on the pro tour include Eric Butorac (Gustavus Adolphus), Wesley Moodie (Auburn-Montgomery), and Toshihide Matsui (BYU-Hawaii).
About the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA)
As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit presented by the USTA, and the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings for men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship.