> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > 2008 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships to Take Place Nov. 6-9

SKILLMAN, N.J. - The nation's top men's and women's collegiate tennis players will be competing in the ITA National Indoor Championships starting Thursday, October 6. This is the second of three national tournaments for singles and doubles administered by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) during the 2008-09 academic year. The University of Virginia is hosting the championships at the Boar’s Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va.

The men will play first with opening round singles and doubles matches scheduled to begin at 10:00 a.m. ET on Thursday. Admission is free.

The participants of the 2008 championships included some of the best and brightest players in college tennis. On the men’s side, top-ranked Oleksandr Nedovyesov of Oklahoma State will to be on hand, along with LSU’s Michael Venus, who captured the 2008 D’Novo/ITA All-American Championship title in October by defeating Nedovyesov in the final. Also competing is 2006 National Intercollegiate Indoor Finalist, Steven Moneke from Ohio State as well as USC’s Robert Farah, a doubles finalist at last year’s championships. All-American doubles champions Jonas Berg and Bram ten Berge of Ole Miss will also look to add another title to their resume.

For the women, headlining the field is the ITA’s returning top-ranked player in Arkansas’ Aurelija Miseviciute, last year’s Riviera runner-up Ani Mijacika of Clemson and 2008 NCAA champion Amanda McDowell of Georgia Tech. Joining the top three seeds are 2008 Riviera/ITA All-American champ, Kelcy McKenna of Arizona State and runner-up, Fani Chichieva from Auburn. The doubles field includes two pairs of doubles teams from Fresno State in top-seeded Tinesta Rowe and Melanie Gloria as well as Anastasia Petukhova and Renata Kucerkova, finalists at this year’s All-American championship.

The top eight singles seeds for this week’s championships are as follows:

Men’s Singles:

  1. Oleksandr Nedovyesov, Oklahoma State
  2. Denes Lukacs, Baylor
  3. Daniel Vallverdu, Miami (FL)
  4. Alex Clayton, Stanford
  5. Robert Farah, USC
  6. Arnau Brugues, Tulsa
  7. Justin Kronauge, Ohio State
  8. Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State

Women’s Singles:

  1. Aurelija Miseviciute, Arkansas
  2. Ani Mijacika, Clemson
  3. Amanda McDowell, Georgia Tech
  4. Maria Mosolova, Northwestern
  5. Marina Cossou, California
  6. Fani Chifchieva, Auburn
  7. Georgia Rose, Northwestern
  8. Melanie Gloria, Fresno State

The top four doubles seeds for this week’s championships are as follows:

Men’s Doubles:

    1.    Cory Parr/Steve Forman, Wake Forest
    2.    Austin Krajicek/Conor Pollock, Texas A&M
    3.    Jamie Hunt/Nate Schnugg, Georgia
    4.    Bram ten Berge/Jonas Berg, Mississippi

Women’s Doubles:

    1.    Melanie Gloria/Tinesta Rowe, Fresno State
    2.    Melissa Mang/Amanda Granson, Duke
    3.    Anastasia Petukhova/Renata Kucerkova, Fresno State
    4.    Anna Sydorska/Macall Harkins, TCU

These ITA championships feature a 32-player singles field and 16-team doubles field for men and women, including: qualifiers from Wilson/ITA Regional Championships held across the country during October, the ITA National Small College champions, the winners of the D’Novo/ITA Men’s All-American Tennis Championships and Riviera/ITA Women's All-American Championships, and at-large and wild card selections made by the ITA National Tournament Committee. Overall, more than 10,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the Wilson/ITA Regional and National Intercollegiate Championships.

The championships will take place at the Boar’s Head Sports Club, which is recognized as one of the top 50 tennis resorts in the U.S, named VA club of the year in 2005, and received recognition from TennisResorts.com as one of the top 75 tennis resorts in the world. The BHSC boasts 10 Hartru outdoor courts, four outdoor hard courts and twelve state of the art indoor courts.

"The ITA is thrilled that our ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Singles and Doubles Championships will be the first National collegiate tennis championship ever hosted by the University of Virginia," said Executive Director, David A Benjamin. "We've heard wonderful things about the Boar's Head Sports Club and know that all of our varsity student-athletes are looking forward greatly to participating in this event."

This event was inaugurated in 1978 for the men and 1984 for the women and past champions and finalists include current professionals Benjamin Becker (Baylor), James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), Laura Granville (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia), Kevin Kim (UCLA), and Lisa Raymond (Florida). Big Ten legends and Grand Slam finalists Todd Martin (Northwestern) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan) are also among the past champions.

As the governing body of collegiate tennis the ITA promotes both the athletic and academic achievements of the collegiate tennis community. The ITA, which was founded in 1956 and is based in Skillman, N.J., administers numerous regional and national championships, the ITA Collegiate Summer Circuit presented by the USTA, and the Fila Collegiate Tennis Rankings for men's and women's tennis at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior College levels. The ITA also has a comprehensive awards program for players and coaches to honor excellence in academics, leadership and sportsmanship. The official ITA website is www.itatennis.com.