> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > 2008 National Players and Doubles Teams of the Year

Georgia Tech's Amanda McDowell and Virginia's Somdev Devvarman have been named the 2008 Intercollegiate Tennis Association's (ITA) National Players of the Year. Southern California's Kaes Van't Hof and Robert Farah and UCLA's Riza Zalameda and Tracy Lin are the ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year.

McDowell is the first player in Georgia Tech history to be named the ITA National Women's Player of the Year. McDowell, a sophomore from Atlanta, Ga., captured the NCAA Singles title last month, becoming the first Yellow Jacket to earn an individual national championship. She was just a freshman when she helped Georgia Tech captured their first-ever NCAA team championship in any sport, when McDowell and her teammates won the title in 2007. This year, the Jackets scored back-to-back ITA National Team Indoor Championship titles, and spent most of the season in the top five of the national rankings. McDowell is no stranger to national championship pressure, as she qualified for the quarterfinals at ITA National Indoors and the semi-finals of the ITA All-American last fall. She set a school record for wins this season, as she went 45-8, hitting as high as No.2 in the national rankings.

Virginia's Devvarman became just the third player to repeat as ITA National Men's Player of the Year, joining Georgia's Matias Boeker (2001-02) and Baylor's Benedikt Dorsch (2004-05). The senior from Chennai, India was also named the 2008 Farnsworth/ITA National Senior Player of the Year. Devvarman, who repeated as NCAA Singles Champion in 2008, is a five-time All-America honoree, a Virginia record. With his singles and doubles All-America honors this season, he surpassed Brian Vahaly's four selections. This year, he became the first men's player since Northwestern's Marty Riessen (1962-64) to reach three straight NCAA singles finals. Devvarman ended the season with a 44-1 singles record and was ranked No. 1 nationally every week of the season. He also garnered a No. 2 ranking in doubles, and helped UVA to the Final Four and a No. 2 final team ranking.

Southern California's Van't Hof and Farah tallied a 41-3 record this year, en route to an NCAA doubles championship title and the No. 1 spot in the ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings. The duo finished the season on a 28-match win streak, claiming the Pac-10 Doubles title, and being named the Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year. The Trojan pair was also one win away from another national title, as they advanced to the finals at ITA National Indoors. Van't Hof is a senior from Newport Beach, Calif., who won the Pac-10 Singles title, and was honored with the ITA/Rafael Osuna Sportsmanship Award, which goes to a men's player who displays sportsmanship, character, and excellent academics, as well as having had outstanding tennis playing accomplishments. Farah, a sophomore from Cali, Columbia, was named the ITA Player to Watch in the West region and earned All-America honors in both singles and doubles.

UCLA's Zalameda and Lin captured the NCAA doubles title last month and finished at No.1 in the ITA rankings. They went 24-3 this season, and reached the quarterfinals at one other national championship this fall, the Riviera/ITA All-American. Both seniors, Zalameda is from Los Angeles, Calif., and Lin is from Anaheim, Calif. The duo is the sixth pair from UCLA to win an NCAA doubles title, and was also named Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year. Lin and Zalameda helped lead the Bruins to one of the best seasons in school history, capturing the program's first Pac-10 team title, and the school's first-ever NCAA Team Championship title. Zalameda, the Pac-10 Singles Champion, was also honored this year as the Pac-10 Player of the Year, the NCAA tournament's Most Outstanding Player, and the ITA Senior Player of the Year.

Past ITA National Players of the Year:
1980 - Peter Rennert, Stanford
1981 - Tim Mayotte, Stanford
1982 - Marcel Freeman, UCLA
1983 - Greg Holmes, Utah
1984 - Paul Annacone, Tennessee
1985 - Mikael Pernfors, Georgia
1986 - Rick Leach, Southern California
1987 - Richey Reneberg, SMU
1988 - Robbie Weiss, Pepperdine
1989 - MaliVai Washington, Michigan
1990 - Steve Bryan, Texas
1991 - Al Parker, Georgia
1992 - Alex O'Brien, Stanford
1993 - Chris Woodruff, Tennessee
1994 - Mark Merklein, Florida
1995 - Sargis Sargsian, Arizona State
1996 - Cecil Mamiit, Southern California
1997 - Thomas Dupre, Mississippi State
1998 - Bob Bryan, Stanford
1999 - James Blake, Harvard
2000 - Alex Kim, Stanford
2001 - Matias Boeker, Georgia
2002 - Matias Boeker, Georgia
2003 - Amer Delic, Illinois
2004 - Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor
2005 - Benedikt Dorsch, Baylor
2006 - Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
2007 - Somdev Devvarman, Virginia
2008 – Somdev Devvarman, Virginia

1982 - Vicki Nelson, Rollins
1983 - Beth Herr, Southern California
1984 - Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)
1985 - Gretchen Rush, Trinity (Texas)
1986 - Caroline Kuhlman, Southern California
1987 - Patty Fendick, Stanford
1988 - Halle Cioffi, Florida
1989 - Tami Whitlinger, Stanford
1990 - Debbie Graham, Stanford
1991 - Sandra Birch, Stanford
1992 - Lisa Raymond, Florida
1993 - Lisa Raymond, Florida
1994 - Angela Lettiere, Georgia
1995 - Keri Phebus, UCLA
1996 - Jill Craybas, Florida
1997 - Lilia Osterloh, Stanford
1998 - Vanessa Webb, Duke
1999 - Zuzana Lesenarova, San Diego
2000 - Laura Granville, Stanford
2001 - Laura Granville, Stanford
2002 - Bea Bielik, Wake Forest
2003 - Amber Liu, Stanford
2004 - Amber Liu, Stanford
2005 - Megan Bradley, Miami (Fla.)
2006 - Audra Cohen, Miami (Fla.)
2007 - Audra Cohen, Miami (Fla.)
2008 – Amanda McDowell, Georgia Tech

Past ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year:
2000 - Geoff Abrams and Alex Kim, Stanford
2001 - Matias Boeker and Travis Parrott, Georgia
2002 - Andrew Colombo and Marc Kovacs, Auburn
2003 - Richard Barker and William Barker, Rice
2004 - Richard Barker and William Barker, Rice
2005 - John Isner and Antonio Ruiz, Georgia
2006 - Kevin Anderson and Ryan Rowe, Illinois
2007 - Luis Flores and John Isner, Georgia
2008 – Robert Farah and Kaes Van't Hof, Southern California

2000 - Claire Curran and Amy Jensen, California
2001 - Whitney Laiho and Jessica Lehnhoff, Florida
2002 - Lauren Kalvaria and Gabriela Lastra, Stanford
2003 - Christina Fusano and Raquel Kops-Jones, California
2004 - Lauren Barnikow and Erin Burdette, Stanford
2005 - Alice Barnes and Erin Burdette, Stanford
2006 - Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey, Stanford
2007 - Sara Anundsen and Jenna Long, North Carolina
2008 – Riza Zalameda and Tracy Lin, UCLA