> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > Championship Central > 2008 NCAA Division I Women's Championships

Dates, Format & Sites: The first and second rounds were played at 16 campus sites May 9-11. TulsaThe final 16 resumes May 16-20 at the University of Tulsa's Michael D. Case Tennis Center. The singles and doubles championships are May 21-26.

Official Website:Visit NCAAsports.com for the draws and latest scores and TulsaHurricane.com for coverage from the final team rounds and singles and doubles championships at Tulsa.

TV/Radio: TulsaHurricane.com will feature live scoring and streamline video for the final rounds. ESPNU and ESPN2 will broadcast the team final live on May 20 starting at 7 pm eastern. The Tennis Channel will broadcast the singles and doubles finals live on May 26 starting at 1 pm eastern.

Top Seeds: The following teams were selected as the top 16 seeds for this year's championships: No. 1 Northwestern, No. 2 Georgia, No. 3 Georgia Tech, No. 4 Stanford, No. 5 Baylor, No. 6 Florida, No. 7 UCLA, No. 8 California, No. 9 Duke, No. 10 Southern California, No. 11 Vanderbilt, No. 12 Miami (Fla.), No. 13 Clemson, No. 14 North Carolina, No. 15 Florida State, and No. 16 Fresno State. Coach Claire Pollard’s top-seeded Northwestern squad enters with a 26-1 record. They are trying to earn the program’s first-ever national championship, and become the sixth team since the inception of the tournament in 1982, to win a title. All 16 top seeds except for North Carolina and Florida State advanced through to championships in Tulsa.

History/Trends: Stanford women’s tennis has had a stranglehold on the NCAAs since their inception in 1982… The Cardinal have won 6 of the last 10 titles, including three of the last four… Stanford also leads the pack with the most overall titles, earning 14… Florida is next in line with 4, while Georgia, Texas and Southern California have each won two apiece … Georgia Tech is the newest member of the club, as they won their first ever NCAA title in 2007.

2008 In Review: Upsets and top 25 moves was the story of the 2008 regular season on the women’s side… Northwestern got things started early in the season, when they handed defending NCAA champions Georgia Tech their first loss of the season… But the Wramblin’ Wreck got their revenge on the Wildcats in February, beating them 4-2 to earn the 2008 ITA National Indoor Team Championship, and handing Northwestern what would be its only loss of the season… The Wildcats did not lose another match, and held on to the No. 1 national ranking for the remainder of the season, adding a Big Ten Conference Championship to their belts, a conference –record tenth straight… Freshman Maria Mosolova also became the first Northwestern freshman ever to earn a No. 1 national ranking in singles… Georgia Tech held on to the No. 2 team spot for most of the season, but Georgia and Stanford both held the spot at one point, with Georgia claiming the spot in the last ITA rankings of the regular season … Clemson claimed their first ACC title since 2004 this year. The Tigers upset defending champion and then-No.2 Georgia Tech in the semifinals, and upset No. 9 Duke 4-3 in the final match to earn the title. The Tigers also notched an upset win over then-No.13 North Carolina in the first round … Baylor had a season for the record books, going 30-2, and achieving a No. 3 national ranking in April, the highest in program history… The Bears also notched a Big 12 conference championship, and earned a No. 4 seed for NCAAs… UCLA was another team with a season to remember. The Bruins won their first-ever Pac-10 regular season title this year, and senior Riza Zalameda won her first Pac-10 Singles Championship. The fourth-seeded Zalameda beat second-seeded Amanda Fink of USC, becoming the Bruins' first Pac-10 Singles Champion since Sara Walker in 2000. Stanford had won 20 of the 21 conference championships heading into this season, but its UCLA and California who shared the title this year… Last fall, California’s Susie Babos captured the singles title at the 2007 Riviera/ITA All-American Championship, while Tennessee’s Caitlin Whoriskey and Zsofia Zuber won the doubles title… At the ITA National Indoor Championships in Columbus, it was Arkansas’ Aurelija Misevicitue earning the singles championship, beating Clemson’s Ani Mijacika, while Notre Dame’s Brook Buck and Kelcy Tefft earned their first-ever National Championship title as a pair, beating Baylor’s Lenka Broosova and Zuzana Zemenova. (See listing of this season's conference champions below)

In the ITA Rankings: The top 10 in the final ITA singles rankings of the season were (in order): Aurelija Miseviciute, Arkansas, Ani Mijacika, Clemson, Hilary Barte, Stanford, Marina Cossou, California, Maria Mosolova, Northwestern, Amanda Fink, Southern California, Amanda McDowell, Georgia Tech, Riza Zalameda, UCLA, Sanaz Marand, North Carolina and Kristi Miller, Georgia Tech. The top five in doubles are: UCLA’s Riza Zalameda and Tracy Lin, Fresno State’s Tinesta Rowe and Melanie Gloria, Notre Dame’s Brook Buck and Kelcy Tefft, Clemson’s Carol Salge and Ani Mijacika and Southern California’s Amanda Fink and Gabriela Niclescu.

2008 ITA National & Regional Award Winners: Regional winners were be announced May 9 and the national winners will be announced May 20. The complete ITA All-America Teams will be announced on May 30. Lists

2007 Champs: Georgia Tech made waves last season, beating UCLA in the final, 4-2, to clinch the school’s first ever NCAA championship title in any sport. In singles, it was Miami’s Audra Cohen who claimed the title, while North Carolina’s Sara Anundsen and Jenna Long won the NCAA doubles trophy.

For ITA Coaches: The ITA Coaches Annex Meeting will take place Mon., May 19th, 9:00-10:00 pm, Case Athletic Complex, U. of Tulsa and Tues., May 20th, 9:00-11:30 a.m., Case Athletic Complex, U. of Tulsa

2008 Conference Champions:
America East – Boston University
Atlantic 10 – Temple
Atlantic Coast – Clemson
Atlantic Sun – Jacksonville
Big East – Notre Dame
Big Sky – Sacramento State
Big South – Wintrop
Big Ten – Northwestern
Big 12 – Baylor
Big West – Long Beach State
Colonial – William & Mary
C-USA – Tulsa
Horizon – Illinois-Chicago
Ivy – Yale
Metro Atlantic – Marist
MAC – Buffalo
Mid-Eastern – South Carolina State
Missouri Valley – Indiana State 
Mountain West – UNLV
Northeast – Quinnipiac
Ohio Valley – Samford
Pacific-10 – UCLA
Patriot – Army
SEC – Georgia
Southern – Furman
Southland – Lamar
SWAC – Alcorn State
Summit – Oral Roberts
Sun Belt – Denver
West Coast – Pepperdine
WAC – Fresno State