> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > Championship Central > 2008 NCAA Division II Women's Championships

Dates, Format & Sites: The first and second rounds of the team tournament were played at Tulsaregional sties, May 8-10. Harris County-Houston Sports Authority and Rice University will co-host the team championships, which will be held May 14-17 at Memorial Park and Homer Ford Park in Houston, Texas.

Official Website: Visit NCAAsports.com for the drawsand latest scores. (Live Stats)

Top Teams Entering NCAA Tournament: No. 1 BYU-Hawaii, No. 2 Armstrong Atlantic State, No. 3 Lynn, No. 4 Valdosta State, No. 5 California (Pa.), No. 6 Abilene Christian, No. 7 Francis Marion, No. 8 Barry, No. 9 Rollins, No. 10 Columbus State. Coach David Porter has led top-seeded BYU-Hawaii to a 25-0 record entering the NCAA Championships. The Seasiders enter the NCAA Championships on an 85 match win streak. This winning streak comes directly after its 130 match win streak, which came directly after a 103 match win streak. Since joining Division II in 1999, the Seasiders own a 318-2 record.

2007 Champion: Two-time defending NCAA Team Champions, BYU-Hawaii won the 2007 title by defeating West Florida 5-0 in Altamonte Springs, Florida. David Porter’s Seasiders have won seven NCAA Team Championships since joining Division II in 1999.

History/Trends: Armstrong Atlantic has appeared in two finals in the last three years, winning the title in 2005 by defeated BYU-Hawaii 5-3 in Altamonte Springs, Florida. Lynn, who capped off an incredible 21-2 season by winning the Sunshine State Conference title, looks to return to the title match under the lead of veteran coach Michael Perez, who guided the Fighting Knights to the 2001 Championship. BYU-Hawaii leads all schools with seven NCAA team titles, followed by SIU-Edwardsville with four and three teams with three team titles each.

2008 In Review: Second ranked Armstrong Atlantic State finished the season 26-1 while cruising to its fifth straight Peach Belt Conference Championship. The Pirates, who have won the NCAA Team Championships three times since joining Division II, have five singles players ranked in the Top 50 nationally and two doubles teams ranked in the Top 10 nationally. Lynn won its third consecutive Sunshine State Conference Championship with a 5-1 victory over rival Barry. It’s the Fighting Knights eight SSC title in ten years. Pablo Montana’s fifth ranked California (Pa.) squad won its second straight Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference Championship with a 5-0 win over Slippery Rock. No. 7 Francis Marion equaled its school record for most victories in a season with 20 wins, while earning a Peach Belt Conference Championship Runner-Up finish. BYU-Hawaii’s David Porter notched his 1,000 career victory in February with a 9-0 win over Dixie State. Last fall Elwen Li of BYU-Hawaii won the ITA National Small College Championships by defeating Johanna Dahlback of Armstrong Atlantic State 6-0, 4-6, 6-4. Maggie Deng and Li of BYU Hawaii defeated Irene Squillaci and Ana Rafolomanantsiatosika of Abilene Christian 6-1, 6-2 to claim the ITA doubles title.

In the ITA Singles & Doubles Rankings: (Singles) No. 1 Elwen Li of BYU-Hawaii, No. 2 Iuliia Stupak of Armstrong Atlantic State, No. 3 Helena Van Eysendeyk of California (Pa.), No. 4 Maggie Deng of BYU-Hawaii, No. 5 Inga Chilingaryan of California (Pa.), No. 6 Suzanna Cavalcante of West Florida, No. 7 Ulia Talalenko of Nova Southeastern, No. 8 Ildiko Csordas of Barry, No. 9 Johanna Dahlback of Armstrong Atlantic State and No. 10 Tereza Sykorova of Francis Marion. (Doubles) No. 1 Elwen Li and Maggie Deng of BYU-Hawaii, No. 2 Suzanna Cavalcante and Paola Arevalo of West Florida, No. 3 Iuliia Stupak and Gabriela Kovacs of Armstrong Atlantic State, No. 4 Vici Weltz and Alexandra Schunk of Lynn and No. 5 Julia Chergova and Anna Redesci of Clayton State. Note: Division II no longer administers a postseason singles and doubles tournament.

In the ITA Rankings: In the latest ITA Rankings (Which can differ from NCAA seeding) BYU-Hawaii is No. 1, followed by No. 2 Armstrong Atlantic State, No. 3 Lynn, No. 4 Valdosta State, No. 5 California (Pa.), No. 6 Abilene Christian, No. 7 Francis Marion, No. 8 Barry, No. 9 Rollins, No. 10 Columbus State, No. 11 Clayton State, No. 12 Nova Southeastern, No. 13 Florida Southern, No. 14 Georgia College & State, No. 15 West Florida, No. 16 Hawaii Pacific, No. 17 Incarnate Word, No. 18 Northwood (Mich.), No. 19 Delta State, No. 20 Tarleton State

2008 ITA National Award Winners: The national winners will be announced May 13. List

For ITA Coaches: The ITA Coaches Annex Meeting will take place on Tuesday May 13th at 4:45pm in the Cottonwood Room at the Hyatt Regency in Houston, Texas.