> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > Championship Central > 2008 NCAA Division III Men's Championships

Dates, Format & Sites: The first, second and third rounds of the team tournament were played atTulsa regional sites, May 2-4. Bates College will host the team championships' final eight, which will be held May 13-15 in Lewiston, Maine. The 32-player singles and 16-team doubles championships follow May 16-18.

Official Website:
Visit NCAAsports.com for the draws and latest scores and the
Bates College site for coverage from the final team rounds and singles and doubles championships.

Radio: Catch the final rounds from Bates live on
RadioTennis.com (free registration required).

Top Seeds: The following teams were selected as the top seeds at the eight regional sites: Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Washington (Mo.), Gustavus Adolphus, Trinity (Texas), Middlebury, Emory, Williams and Kenyon.

2007 Champs: UC Santa Cruz beat Emory 5-1 to capture last year's team title in St. Louis, Mo. The title was UCSC's sixth under coach Bob Hansen and second in three years. Leading the way last year for UC Santa Cruz was senior Matt Seeberger, the most decorated player in NCAA Division III men's tennis history. For the second time in his career he won the NCAA "triple crown," by capturing the NCAA team, singles and doubles (with Max Ortiz) titles. All told, Seeberger left UCSC having won eight NCAA championships (2 team, 3 singles and 3 doubles).

Early Round Clash: The NCAA Division III Championship format places certain restrictions on travel and mainly aligns teams on a regional basis - thus a a third round clash between No. 1 UC Santa Cruz and No. 2 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps in Claremont, Calif. CMS won for the second time in as many meetings this season to advance to the final eight. 

History/Trends: Kalamazoo has captured more NCAA Division III men's crowns than any other school with seven (the last one coming in 1993). UC Santa Cruz follows with six titles. Just four schools - Emory, Middlebury, UC Santa Cruz and Williams - have reached the NCAA final in the last seven years.

2008 In Review: This season saw three different programs ascend to No. 1 in the ITA Rankings - UC Santa Cruz, Gustavus Adolphus and Trinity (Texas) ... Four different schools were ranked No. 2 ... Emory captured the program's 19th consecutive University Athletic Association Championship beating Washington ... Then-No. 19 DePauw upset then-No. 1 Trinity on April 27, 5-4, to capture the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference title ... Gustavus jumped to No. 1 in March after capturing the ITA National Team Indoor crown on its home courts, beating UC Santa Cruz 5-4 in the final ... Gustavus coach Steve Wilkinson, the winningest Division III coach in history, registered his 900th career victory earlier this season .... Kalamazoo won its 70th straight MIAA title ... Kenyon registered a 23-1 season and climbed to a program-high No. 6 in the ITA Rankings in March ... Second-ranked CMS's title hopes were bolstered this season by the return of sophomore Michael Starr. Last season as a freshman he captured the Division III singles title at the ITA National Small College Championships in October, 2006, but missed the entire spring season due to a torn ACL in their first dual match ... Last fall Washington's John Watts beat Gustavus' Andy Bryan 4-6, 6-2, 6-3 to capture the Division III men's singles title at the ITA National Small College Championships. Middlebury's Filip Marinkovic and Andrew Thomson beat Emory's Michael Goodwin and Oliver Lopp in the doubles final 6-3, 6-4.

Top Players: The ITA releases regional rankings during the spring and the top-ranked players in each region entering the NCAAs are: Williams' Dan Greenberg (Northeast), Johns Hopkins' David Maldow (Atlantic South), Gustavus Adolphus' Andy Bryan (Central) and Trinity's Oliver Gaines (West).

In the ITA Rankings: In the latest ITA Rankings (which can differ from NCAA seeding) UC Santa Cruz is No. 1, followed by: No. 2 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, No. 3 Emory, No. 4 Trinity (Texas), No. 5 Washington (Mo.), No. 6 Gustavus Adolphus, No. 7 Middlebury, No. 8 Williams, No. 9 Kenyon, No. 10 Redlands, No. 11 Bowdoin, No. 12 Trinity (Conn.), No. 13 Mary Washington, No. 14 Carnegie Mellon, No. 15 Amherst, No. 16 DePauw, No. 18 Washington & Lee, No. 19 Johns Hopkins and No. 20 Whitman.

2008 ITA National & Regional Award Winners: Regional winners will be announced May 6 and the national winners will be announced May 15. The complete ITA All-America Teams will be announced on May 29. List

For ITA Coaches: The ITA Coaches Annex Meeting will take place Thurs., May 15 – 8:30 p.m., Bates Dining Commons, after Awards Banquet.