> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > Championship Central > 2008 NAIA Women's Championships

Dates, Format & Sites: The final rounds of the 57th NAIA Women’s Tennis Championships areNAIA taking place at the Mobile Tennis Center in Alabama May 12-16. Twenty-four schools qualify for Mobile through advancement in regional tournaments played the last week of April and first week of May.

Official Website: Visit NAIA.org
for the draws and latest scores.

Top Seed: Auburn-Montgomery finished the regular season with a 30-0 record and will try for its fifth consecutive NAIA title. The Senators have compiled an impressive 88-2 overall record in the past three years and won their third-straight NAIA Region XIII Championship in April.

History/Trends: Auburn-Montgomery has won the last four championships and seven of the last ten. AUM leads the all-time champions list, with 8 total. Flager’s five titles are the second most. AUM has beat Fresno Pacific in each of the last two finals.

2008 In Review: AUM spent the entire season at No. 1 in the NAIA team ratings...Team has been led by Delia Sescioreanu-Delea, the No.1 player in the nation, and senior Kamila Dadakhodjareva, the ITA National Senior Player of the Year ...Coach Scott Kidd, in his third season at the helm, was recently named ITA’s National Coach of the Year for NAIA women... Fresno Pacific turned in an impressive 17-1 regular season, and comes in at No.2 in the nation in the NAIA’s April 30 ranking... Fresno Pacific’s Anna Karavayeva and Maria Kolkotsky captured the NAIA doubles title and an overall crown at the ITA’s “Super Bowl” of small college tennis… Azuza Pacific tallied a 16-4 record, earning a No. 3 national ranking, and marking themselves one of the teams to beat in Alabama.

In the NAIA Team Ratings: No. 1 Auburn-Montgomery, No. 2 Fresno Pacific, No. 3 Azusa Pacific, No. 4 Lindsey Wilson, No. 5 Vanguard, No. 6 California Baptist, No. 7 Berry College, No. 8 Savannah college of Art and Design, No. 9 Embry-Riddle, No. 10 Southern Nazarene.

2008 ITA National Award Winners: This year's winners were announced May 12: Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year – Scott Kidd, Auburn Montgomery; ITA Senior Player of the Year – Kamila Dadakhodjareva, Auburn Montgomery; ITA National Rookie Player – Kristin Strimple, Point Loma Nazarene University; ITA National Player to Watch – Paige McKinney, Bethel College (Kan.); ITA/Arthur Ashe Jr. Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship – Shefat Baishakhi, Lewis Clark University.

In the ITA Singles & Doubles Rankings: (Singles) No. 1 Delia Sescioreanu-Delea, Auburn Montgomery, No. 2 Angelina Minova, Fresno Pacific, No. 3 Kamila Dadakhodjareva, Auburn Montgomery, No. 4 Kristin Strimple, Pt. Loma Nazarene, No. 5 Barbara Oliviera, California Baptist, No. 6 Hana Jurcovicova, Vanguard University, No. 7 Tereza Veverakova, Auburn Montgomery, No. 8 Betyel Tesfa, Vanguard, No. 9 Bay Daniels, Asuza Pacific, and No. 10, Emma Cruz, Berry College. (Doubles) No.1. Delia Sescioreanu-Delea and Tereza Veverkova, Auburn Montgomery, No. 2 Ana Karavayeva and Maria Klokotzky, Fresno Pacific, No. 3 Bay Daniels and Sheryl Bon, Azusa Pacific, No. 4 Kamila Dadakhodjaeba and Dominika Zuzulova, Auburn Montgomery, No. 5 Hana Jurkovicova and Damia Donkervoort, Vanguard. Note: The NAIA no longer administers a postseason singles and doubles tournament.

A look back at 2007: AUM beat Fresno Pacific 5-3, to capture their fourth-straight national championship.