> ITA Tennis Homepage > About ITA > News > Archived News > 2008 News Archives > Championship Central > 2008 Junior/Community College Women's Championships

NJCAA Women’s Championships
May 4-8 at the Randolph Tennis Center in Tucson, Arizona

NJCAA 1Division I Champions: Hillsborough Community College (Fla.) captured the 2008 NJCAA Division I crown, finishing one point ahead of second-place Tyler (45-44). Abraham Baldwin (Ga.) finished third, just two points behind HCC. Coach Chad Berryhill’s HCC squad was led by sophomore Eva Sambrano who captured the title at No. 4 singles (the NJCAA championships features 6 flights singles and 3 flighted doubles tournaments; team accumulate points through their player’s advancement each of the flights). The title was the first for HCC in program history. It had finished second in 2006 and 2007.

Flight Champs: No. 1 singles Monika Lalewicz of Abraham Baldwin; No. 2 Jessica Mezo of Laredo; No. 3 Stephanie Rodriguez of Lee College; No. 4 Eva Sambrabo of Hillsborough; No. 4 Gina Solis of Collin Country; and No. 6 Audrey Hernandez of Lee. No. 1 doubles Loriane Favoretto and Jessica Mezo of Laredo; No. 2 Nadia Solomon and Brittanee George of North Central Texas; and No. 3 Eva Sambrano -Katherine Laine

Complete results and final standings: Visit NJCAA.com.

Division III Champions: The College of DuPage (Ill.) ran away with the 2008 NJCAA Division III crown with 41 points, 19 ahead of second-place Ocean Country (N.J.). Oxford College of Emory University (Ga.) finished third with 19.5 points. The title was the second straight for DuPage, which is coached by Jim Bowers. They are the first team to repeat since Mercer County (N.J.) won two straight in 1999-2000. DuPage swept the doubles flights and landed five players in the six singles finals, winning three flights. (There is no Division II for tennis.)

Flight Champs: No. 1 singles Sofia Molina of Eastfield; No. 2 Sarah Rapp of Rock Valley; No. 3 - Alyssa Arnold of DuPage; No. 4 Skye Rubel of Brookdale; No. 5 Jacquelyn McMahon of DuPage; No. 6 Rebecca Davis of DuPage; No. 1 doubles Abigail Conover and Jennifer Green of DuPage; Alyssa Arnold and Blaire Hufford of DuPage; Jacquelyn McMahon and Ashley Shanahan of DuPage.

Complete results and final standings: Visit NJCAA.com.

California Community College Championships
May 8-10 at El Dorado Tennis Center in Long Beach, Calif.

Team Champions: Grossmont College captures its first state title since 2004 and 11th overall, beating Chabot in the team final, 5-3. Grossmont finished the season with an 18-1 record and upset No. 1 Orange Coast in the semifinals. Grossmont, coached by Megan Haber, got wins in singles from Vanesa Reibstein, Brianna McClintock and Justine Gordon, then two win in doubles to close out the match. Chabot had won the Northern California division to advance to the final.

Singles and Doubles Champions: Following the team championships, the College of the Desert’s Lorena Zago beat Grossmont’s Vanessa Reinstein to capture the singles title, 6-3, 7-6. Zago is the first COD player to win the crown since 1999. Orange Coast College's Brittany Bass and Brittnie Furuvald beat Riverside’s Caroline Houston and Patricia Vatelia 7-6 (4), 6-2 in the doubles final. They are the second OCC duo in four years to win the title.

Complete results: Visit the Calif Comm. College Athletic Association website.