27th Annual ITA Coaches Convention Kicks Off Tuesday

Coaches Convention 2011

27th Annual ITA Coaches Convention Kicks Off Tuesday
Smith, Washington, Bollettieri among clinic presenters 

NAPLES, FLA. -- More than 200 college coaches from NCAA, NAIA and Junior College teams will be attending the 27th annual Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) Coaches Convention Tuesday-Friday at the Naples Grande Beach Resort.


The ITA Coaches Convention is one of the best professional development opportunities for collegiate tennis coaches today, providing them with the opportunity to receive continuing education, participate in important association business meetings and serve as leaders in promoting the growth of varsity college tennis.


The Convention kicks off on Tuesday with a pair of brand-new activities for 2011: the USTA Multicultural Coaching Symposium and the USTA Junior Showcase, a tennis tournament held on the clay courts of the Naples Grande Beach Resort that features some of Florida's most talented junior players hoping to catch the eyes of the coaches.


Throughout the week, the coaches will be treated to workshops led by some of the biggest names in the sport. Among the featured clinic presenters are seven-time Grand Slam champion Stan Smith, who won three national titles at USC; 1996 Wimbledon finalist MaliVai Washington, a former ITA No. 1 at the University of Michigan; International Tennis Hall of Fame Class of 2012 nominee Nick Bollettieri; and 2011 Wilson/ITA National Division I Coaches of the Year Kenny Thorne (Georgia Tech men) and Roland Thornqvist (University of Florida women), courtesy of Wilson Sporting Goods.


In addition to offering clinics, panel discussions, an awards banquet, a trade show and a chance to exchange ideas, the ITA Coaches Convention is also the venue for the association's annual meetings, which includes ITA Operating Committee, Divisional Roundtable and General Membership sessions.


A highlight each year at the ITA Coaches Convention is the ITA Membership and Awards Banquet. On Thursday evening, Thorne, Thornqvist and their fellow Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year winners from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA and Junior Colleges will be honored for their work during the 2010-11 season. In addition, Claire Pollard of Northwestern University is set to receive the USTA/ITA National Campus and Community Outreach Award and Matt Meredith of Slippery Rock University will be recognized as the USTA/ITA National QuickStart Provider of the Year.


Washington will serve as the keynote speaker at the ITA Awards Banquet, courtesy of Wilson Sporting Goods. Before peaking at No. 11 in the world as a professional, Washington was a two-time ITA All-American and the 1989 ITA National Player of the Year as a member of the Wolverines. He defeated Big-Ten rival Todd Martin of Northwestern University in the 1996 Wimbledon semifinals.

For more information about the ITA Coaches Convention and a full list of award winners, please visit www.ITAtennis.com.

Additional Information